• Home
  • News
  • Sony Pictures Network secures exclusive rights to this year’s Copa América for the Indian subcontinent

Sony Pictures Network secures exclusive rights to this year’s Copa América for the Indian subcontinent


Fans of South America’s most prestigious national team soccer tournament will be pleased to learn that this year’s Copa America will be broadcasted live in India on SPN. Since one channel is never enough, this edition of the competition will be live on SonyLIV, SPN’s OTT streaming network. The month of June cannot come fast enough, as streaming will take place from June 14th to July 11th. The long list of broadcast territories for Copa America 2021 continues to grow with this new rights agreement. India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka are now part of Copa America’s global audience thanks to this new agreement.

This new deal has been in the works for quite some time. The competition for this new contract was initially scheduled for June and July 2020, but it was delayed by a year due to the spread of Covid-19 in South America.

This isn’t SPN’s first soccer-related rights deal. SPN has expanded its broadcasting within the sports industry, as soccer’s popularity continues to grow as fans get their soccer experience through their television screens. They have won UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, and UEFA Euro 2020 rights. They’ve also won the UEFA Nations League, Fifa European Qualifiers, FA Cup, and, of course, Serie A.

What can fans expect?

This new partnership between SPN and Copa America has resulted in only good things for soccer fans. These fans will have access to the greatest of international football from Europe to South America during June and July. Their extensive football calendar will feature only the best football players and teams from around the world. In the UEFA Euro, viewers should expect to see players such as Cristiano Ronaldo and Kylian Mbappé. Let’s not forget about Lionel Messi and Neymar, who are both playing in the Copa America 2021.

This year’s Copa America will be especially noteworthy because it will be the first time since 1983 that the tournament will be held in two countries. There will be ten teams competing, divided into two groups of five teams each. Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay, and Bolivia will compete in the first division, which will be held in Argentina. The second group, which includes Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, and Venezuela, will play their games in Colombia. Argentina, the 14-time champion, will face Chile in the opening match of Copa America 2021 in Buenos Aires.

The Copa America is the oldest football competition for national teams in the world. With the 47th edition of Conmebol’s prestigious competition, this year’s edition will continue this legacy. Fans will have to wait a little longer, as the Copa America kicks off on June 13th in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and concludes on July 10th in Barranquilla, Columbia, with the final.


To find out more about Samba Digital, get in touch with us via our Contacts Page.